Knowledge and Practice Hubs

Neglect knowledge and practice hub

Description_of_image_used_in_neglect_knowledge_and_practice_hub_teddy Photo: Lassedesign/Fotolia

Learning points

• How to recognise the six categories of neglect: medical, nutritional, emotional, physical, educational and supervisory.
• Why the the simultaneous occurrence of substance misuse, domestic abuse and mental health problems in families puts children at increased risk of significant harm.
• How being neglected affects children – from the prenatal period to adolescence.

Resources in this hub can help you meet point 5 of the Knowledge and skills statement for child and family practitioners: Abuse and neglect of children.

Overview: thresholds and risk factors

Overview: thresholds and risk factors

Supported learning

Quiz: legislation, case law and research
Supported learning content is only available to organisations with a workforce licence. Find out more about supported learning here.

Child development and assessment tools

Child development and assessment tools

The impact of neglect

Jenny Molloy

Guides to the impact of neglect according to age:
0 to two years
Two to four years
Five to 11 years
If you can’t find what you’re looking for, do let us know.